Successes at the Statehouse: Just the Beginning


SUCCESS! On September 28, Darryl W. Perry, President of New Hampshire Libertas, spoke to the NH Commission to Study Cryptocurrency Regulation (video available here). That Commission met again on October 6 and Rep. Barbara Biggie indicated that she would introduce legislation to repeal the law giving the NH Banking Commission authority to regulate “Convertible virtual currency” (HB666). The Chair of the Commission, Rep. John Hunt, even said “when we passed this in [HB]666, I did not fully understand what we were doing.” Adding “if I had known [then] what I know today… I’m not sure I would have passed it.”
This highlights just one reason having a pro-liberty lobbyist is beneficial: to educate legislators on what they’re about to do, or – in this case – what they have already done.

Also on October 6, the Election Law Committee had an Executive Session on HB393, relative to model legislation. During the Public Hearing in February 2015, Darryl was one of the few people to speak on the bill and brought up several problems with the way the bill would have been implemented if adopted. The Prime Sponsor of the bill later indicated she wanted to completely rewrite the bill, however she became ill and passed away before writing the amendment. The Committee opted to advise no further action on this bill.
This highlights another reason having a pro-liberty lobbyist is beneficial: to inform legislators of problems they may not realize exist in their legislation.

If you enjoy reading news of bad bills being killed and bad statutes being repealed and want to help fund a pro-liberty lobbyist, please consider becoming a monthly contributor to New Hampshire Libertas via PayPal or Bitcoin. One-time contributions are also appreciated.

We are currently sitting at 55.2% of our monthly goal of $416.67, and have 26 members of the Founder Committee. If 19 more contributors step forward with monthly pledges of $10, we will reach our goal! Remember: all monthly donors and all one-time donors who contribute at least $50 before October 31 will become members of the Founders Committee.

Founders Committee members will be listed in order of their contributions, monthly pledges will be “annualized” for ranking purposes.

I would be remiss if I did not thank those who have already joined the Founders Committee.

Jacob M. Rossman • Joe Perry • Timothy Conard • Rodger Paxton • Larry Sharpe • Derrick Slopey • David R Jeffries • David Demerest • Brian Styczynski • Jonathan Patschke • Mark Edgington • Lorenzo Gaztanaga • Jacob Mast • Mitch Rushing • Anthony Migchelbrink • Jarrett Tilford • Forrest Osterman • Drew Davis • Ian Freeman • Michael Williammee • Ernest Hancock • Brian McQuade • Greg Faust • Nicole Jordan • Dayl Thomas

If you are not yet a member of the Founders Committee, please consider starting or increasing a monthly pledge via PayPal or Bitcoin.
– OR –
Please demonstrate your confidence in our efforts by investing the largest one-time contribution that will make you feel good. Remember, your contribution will be memorialized on the Founders Committee roster, and everyone who has contributed to date will be included on the Founders Committee roster.